AGONIPPE Thank you, Greg, for the facelift. [agonnipe]
I put my engagement ring on for the first time Saturday. I was euphoric.

It was beautiful � simple, elegant, restrained: a square-cut, ros�-colored garnet in a ribbon of white gold.

It fit tightly, like a hug.

The weight of it shocked me. I�ve worn rings before � stacked silver rings that adorned my hands like medieval gauntlets. None, not even all together, felt as heavy as this.

This, I thought, was psychological weight. This was the enormity of my engagement catching up to me. This was the weight of his love, his trust, his commitment � his very heart � resting on my hand.

The human heart is a strange place.

Mine was full to bursting with happiness and sobering responsibility at the same time. Sugar and salt at once. Laughing and crying simultaneously.